When I Awake

The night is dark away from you
And darker still my soul in pain
I’ve lost my way, fallen asleep
I fear I’ll never see you again.

When I awake
I find you by my side
When I awake
Your love drives out the dark
And if I ever sleep again
I know I’ll see you
When I awake

How bright the day that breaks my sleep
To see your face and fear no more
To walk with you and feel your touch
That gives me peace and wings to soar.

Psalm 139:17-18

How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast are the sum of them!
Were I to count them, they would outnumber the sand.
When I awake, I am still with you.

Leave a Reply

