Eagerly Waiting

It struck me as strange when I caught myself checking a news feed for the fifth time in as many days, eagerly waiting for news about some soon to be released Apple product.

I, along with countless others, are kept on a short leash by the machines that churn out just enough information to keep us titillated by whatever upcoming gadget is about to hit the streets.

What a disgrace!

I am ashamed of myself.

If you can relate to this – you ought to be ashamed as well.

Ashamed, because instead of our vision being transfixed on the doors of heaven, eagerly awaiting our Saviour, we are seduced by the temporal intrigues of flashing lights.

Philippians 3:20
But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Saviour

2 Timothy 4:8
Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing.

Ashamed, because our Lord beckons and we miss the signal – distracted with the prospect of ‘being in the know’.

Psalm 123:1-2
To you I lift up my eyes,
O you who are enthroned in the heavens!

2 Behold, as the eyes of servants
look to the hand of their master,
as the eyes of a maidservant
to the hand of her mistress,
so our eyes look to the Lord our God,
till he has mercy upon us.

I’m looking forward to the new iPad.

I’m looking forward to Mavericks.

I’m looking forward to the update to iWorks.

But am I eagerly awaiting my Saviour?

Are you?

To the praise of His glory.

Leave a Reply

