My New Bible

It is with a note of self-conscious, Western induced caution that I write this post. I am painfully aware of our infatuation with all things new and that many bibles do not make a man more holy.

Yet, I do want to sing the praises of the team at Crossway on their recently released edition of the English Standard Version (ESV) – the Gospel Transformation Bible. I recently received my copy in the mail and have been extremely happy with the additional content that supplements the already well established ESV text.

Taken directly from the introduction to this excellent edition are the following words.

The goal of the Gospel Transformation Bible is twofold: (1) to enable readers to understand that the whole Bible is a unified message of the gospel of God’s grace culminating in Christ Jesus, and (2) to help believers apply this good news to their everyday lives in a heart-transforming way.

My prayer is also twofold: (1) that these goals would find their fulfilment firstly in my life, and (2) in the lives of those who God has given me to minister to.

It is with sincere confidence that I add my endorsement of this edition of the ESV.

Gospel Transformation Bible

Gospel Transformation Bible

Leave a Reply

