I enjoy poetry.

The act of trying to say something well, helps me in turn to see something beautiful, even in the very process of writing.

So this week’s ‘Monday Throwback’ is a piece I wrote during a trip to Minneapolis for the 2013 Desiring God Pastor’s Conference. John Piper had just closed his session, entitled, ‘Saying Beautifully As a Way of Seeing Beauty: The Life of George Herbert and His Poetic Effort‘, when I went for a walk through the steady snow (a new experience for me!). While I walked I was meditating over the crucifixion scene from various character’s perspective.

That night, I sat and wrote ‘Son Of The Father‘, an attempt to capture the beauty of the substitutionary work of Christ.

You will most likely read better poetry, but I pray it may still help you see the beauty of Jesus afresh.

To the praise of his glory!

Leave a Reply

